Kate Hughes


distorted perspectives
September 28, 2009, 6:58 pm
Filed under: craft, drawing, surrounds | Tags: , ,

crafty-work

murphy-grove

park-drive

Contemplating windows, the blueprint of interior spaces and the experiences held in them emerge, housemates and lovers, settling and escaping, individual and shared histories.

Whilst painting and stitching away at my current project I contemplate the zine format. A format of reproduction and distribution, reaching it’s audience through a cheap transaction, taken home, examined intimately. Do I have anything to express through a format that does not require hundreds of hours production, that is cheaply and easily reprinted and rebound? And what does the beautiful piece of expensive paper hanging on my studio wall have to do with it?

truckin

In studio news, I’m now sharing my space with the lovely Phebe Parisia.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As soon as summer hits and my exhibition is over, I want to get outside and do watercolours. Your work is really inspiring me.

I am absolutely in love with your cross stitches too. They obviously must take a lot of time which gives them a wonderful sense of intimacy and preciousness. I find myself wanting one!

Comment by Ngaio

I just wrote an exhibition proposal that was centered around the intimacy between artist and audience created by craft, so I’m glad you see it there even in a digital photo.

Watercolours for me are a continuous learning process which really shows through in the bound book.

Comment by Kate




Leave a Reply

